Free-from and allergen information

All our Vale Cider products are suitable for vegetarians and those on a vegan diet

We follow a traditional approach to cider-making and hand-craft our products on the farm using 100% juice from freshly pressed apples from our orchards. We do not use animal-based ingredients during our cider-making, juicing or vinegar-making processes. All our products are suitable for those following vegetarian and vegan diets.

NOTE: Chemicals derived from shellfish are used in some ciders to help clear cloudiness or haze (“clarification” or “fining”). Such ciders are NOT suitable for those following a vegan diet. It is, therefore, important always to check the label of a cider.

suitable for vegans symbol

All our Vale Cider Products are suitable for those on a gluten-free diet

Unlike most beers which contain wheat, barley or rye, the key ingredients of ciders – apples – do not contain glutens. Thus, most ciders (along with apple juice and cider vinegar) are “naturally gluten-free”. All our products are suitable for those on a gluten-free diet.

NOTE: Some ciders contain small amounts of gluten – usually as a result of gluten-based yeasts used for fermentation of the cider. Such ciders are not suitable for those on a gluten-free diet. It is, therefore, important always to check the label of a cider.

Gluten free symbol

Allergens

Our apple juices do not contain any potential allergens.

Our traditional ciders, fruit ciders and cider vinegar contain small amounts of the allergen sulphites. We show this on the product label. 

NOTE: Sulphites are chemicals that are produced in small amounts during the cider-making process of yeast fermentation – whether yeast has been added or the “wild” yeasts on apple skins are used – and occur in measurable amounts in almost all ciders. As well as occurring naturally, sulphites have preservative properties and have been added in small amounts for cider-making for hundreds of years (and wine making since Roman times) to prevent spoilage of the cider (or wine). At Vale Cider we add small amounts of sulphites to help prevent spoilage. The presence of sulphites is shown on the labels.

Back label for 500ml bottle of Traditional Vale Cider

Summary

Table of Vale Cider products showing suitability for vegan and gluten-free diets

All of our Vale Cider products – including our award-winning traditional ciders, fruit ciders, apple juices and apple cider vinegar are suitable for those on a vegetarian or vegan diet and those on a gluten-free diet. There are no potential allergens in our apple juices. The only potential allergen in our ciders and vinegar is sulphites.

Visit our Vale Cider Online Shop

Find out about the Big Three Flavours of Cider

Learn how to Taste Cider

Find out how we make Vale Ciders

Test your Cider Trivia knowledge with our Quiz

Browse our Gallery of images